My Year Abroad

Hasta luego querida​ amiga <3

Dear Leah,

I can’t believe that I have to leave you. I am almost waiting for you to ring me up, even if it’s right before I go, and tell me that you’ve changed courses and are now moving to Spain for a year to build upon your GCSE Spanish.

I can’t believe you’ll be gone when I get back. I cling to the fact that you’ll be applying for a master degree at Nottingham and be phoning me to tell me all about the arrangements we’ll have to make for yet another year of living together.

Has it really been two years since that day you arrived with your Mum, Dad, and Jess and decorated out your little shoe box of a room? Since the night we took that famous Broadgate Park photo in the photo booth with Josh, Bussey, and Paulina during the welcome talk? I almost cannot believe it but we’ve both changed so much that I guess that all that time must have passed. Anyhow, I think you’ve read enough of my essays for it to definitely feel like two years for you!

I can promise you Skype calls, cheap holidays to Valencia and my undying love for you but even these would not come close to amounting to all of the help, guidance, advice, and support that you have provided me with over these past two years.

Leah, you are my best friend and I truly do not know what I am going to do without you this year. You are the most selfless, bubbly, optimistic person I have ever met. The impression that you have  left upon my life is immeasurably large and ever growing. I have to admit it, sometimes I even feel a little sick when you call me your best friend because I still can’t comprehend that you actually like me that much.

I wish you all the best for your third year in Notts and I will see you very soon.

Katie x

XTPN6579

Standard

Leave a Reply

