40acts

Day 9:- Listen actually

Well, I always said I was more of a listener than a talker, and it was time to put this to the test. It’s very difficult when you especially try and concentrate on what every individual you encounter is saying…

I wish I’d gone to see the man they had last year who sat on a settee in the middle of a town with his ‘I will listen sign’. I remember watching the footage of people having a good old chat with this friendly fellow and wishing I could just tell him all my problems.

Listen man

It’s funny though, even though I know he’d listen, I’d still wanted him to be interested, or give me dive… you know, prove to me he actually had listened? If I’d actually seen him, would I not just have walked on by? I hope I’d have admired you deeply for trying.

I found the second part of the act even more difficult, not to be judgemental. It’s something we all do when listening to a story, we take to facts and we store them and from them we form an opinion on a topic.

So unfortunately I-will-listen-sofa-man, my statement this year was alas, not quite as bold as yours, but after listening all day I was genuinely shocked by what some people have to say! So much for thinking I was already a good listener.

Standard

Leave a Reply

